It was a bright cold day in April

“It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.”
George Orwell, 1984

An atheist allegedly took a government to court demanding a public holiday for their religion. The judge supposedly said that All Fools Day was already an atheists holiday.
April 1st, April Fools Day image (pastels) from a must-see film for all atheists “Monty Pythons Life of Brian”. April 2nd Autism Awareness Day. I was quite shocked that I’d never seen this colourful ribbon before and just had to paint it.

April 3rd Find a Rainbow Day. Watercolour, this didn’t work out as I’d wanted, I’d hoped that the rainbow colours would merge better than they did, still learning.
April 4th Pillow Fight Day, I wrote a poem as well.
“Wouldn’t it be good, And somehow it seems right,
To solve our world’s problems, With a Leaders Pillow Fight”.

April 5th Palm Sunday, yes, that’s my palm. April 6th Fresh Tomato Day, coloured pencils; today is also “Write your Epitaph Day”, so here’s my attempt:
Here lies an artist named Peter, Whose artwork could’ve been neater;
His pic-of-the-day, Oft went all astray;
As he frequented the pint or the litre.

April 7th National Coffee Cake Day, painted with coffee of course, what else.
April 8th  Zoo Lovers Day, just a 2B pencil for this one.

April 9th Unicorn Day. ‘Well, now that we have seen each other,’ said the Unicorn,
‘if you’ll believe in me, I’ll believe in you. Is that a bargain?’ ‘Yes, if you like,’
said Alice.
April 10th Hug Your Dog Day, or Farm Animal Day. This is Lynne with Tasha, a castoff from a litter of working dogs. Tasha was too tall, as they were trained by being tied to an older dog and learning by example. Watercolour pencils from a very poor fuzzy original 70s photo of mine, which made it difficult to follow.
 

My neighbour knocked on my door today and volunteered to paint my side of the fence while he was painting his side. So what else could I do, I painted his house.

April 11th National Submarine Day, believe it or not in 1898 an Irish engineer demonstrated his submarine to the US Navy and on this day they bought it.
April 12th National Liquorice Day, watercolour pencils.

April 13th Easter Monday, watercolour with the caption “Mine”. April 14th Look up at the Sky Day, watercolour. On the Fylde Coast we see many an unbelievable, unpaintable sky so although this didn’t turn out as I’d wanted or expected, it’s my unbelievable sky.

April 15th Anime Day. This is me as a Ninja (more manga than anime I believe).
April 16th Save the Elephant Day and Mushroom Day, prehistory in pastels.

April 17th Bat Appreciation Day, who else could save us now. April 18th Circus Day, my interpretation of the statue in recognition of one of the greatest ever clowns, and anyone who’s been to Blackpool Tower Circus must agree. Charlie Cairoli (1910-80).

April 19th My brothers birthday card with the message inside and April 19th is also Bicycle Day (not World Bicycle Day on June 3rd). On April 19, 1943, Albert Hofmann a Swiss scientist intentionally ingested LSD. Feeling unwell he went home on his bicycle and after feelings of anxiety he said he eventually saw unprecedented colours and plays of shapes and fantastic images. Whilst painting this, three tunes repeatedly played in my head; can you see them?

April 20th Chinese Writing Day. My attempt at a Chinese painting (which should be ink on rice paper), using watercolours and photocopy paper. April 21st Beautiful Bulldog Day, this is Bella.

April 22nd Earth Day. I couldn’t decide what to do until I stepped into the garden a saw the lovely apple blossom, I haven’t done it justice. April 23rd St George’s Day, my first real attempt at an abstract. I’ve tried to capture the melee of battle between the saint and his adversary the dragon. Acrylics.

April 24th. Arbour Day. The Festival of Trees was first celebrated in 1805 in Spain. Pastel piece of my local park. April 25th I found my wife’s stash of felt tip pens she used with the special needs kids she worked with, and thought she’d like this little story and pic … Poo was busy Spring cleaning the House at Poo Corner and completely forgot it was April 25th and Eyore’s Birthday. Luckily Pengi and Freddy were already celebrating World Penguin Day and Save the Frogs Day, so they invited Eyore to their party in Hundred Acre Wood.

April 26th Get Organised Day. My unusually tidy desk. April 27th Tell a Story Day …
One day we’ll all laugh about this, whilst struggling with the daily stress, of work that will return.
A tale to tell your grandchildren, of a time before the lock-in,
When people shook hands, and were able to make plans, about holidays in the sun.
When roads were busy and shops were full, and children were able to go to school;
When folk would meet, face to face, in a place we called a pub;
Where together we’d all have fun. In a time before the lock-in.
 

April 28th Superhero Day, No explanation needed. April 29th Make a Wish Day.

April 30th International Jazz Day. My favourite music venue, The Waterloo Music Bar, and my favourite live band, The Urban Voodoo Machine who describe themselves as Bourbon-Soaked Gypsy Blues (watercolour pencils).

IMG_20200430_192528

Thanks for reading.

8 comments

  1. What a lovely thing to see first thing in the morning.lovely art work. I like the use of your colours and your tomatoes are excellent. You most certainly are greatly improving. A credit to you.
    On the downside, the blooming tiger reminded me of someone human.
    Excellent.

    Like

  2. These are great! The concept of commemorating each of these—widely varied—days with your art is a stroke pf genius (pun intended), and the color, fun, and beauty of your work is a pleasure to look at 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.